To enlarge the font, hold down the 'Ctrl' and '+' buttons on a PC or 'Cmd' and '+' buttons on a Mac.

Graeme Antwhistle

Graeme Antwhistle

National Coach Development Manager


Graeme was appointed ‘National Coach Development and Performance Pathway Manager’ in January 2017. He will work closely with Ross Nicholas (National Performance Director) to deliver and support the systematic development of performance coaches and swimmers across Wales, in line with the performance objectives of Swim Wales.

He has over 20 years of swimming coaching experience.  In 1998 Graeme established the Borough of Stockton Swim Scheme.  As head coach developing swimmers entering the programme as 8 year olds through to World medal winners and Olympic finalists, including Welsh Senior International Jemma Lowe who’s first cap was 2006 Commonwealth Games in Melbourne Australia.

In 2008 after being selected as a Team GB coach at the Beijing Olympics he moved to the University of Bath to create a new National Centre for British Swimming.  Over the 8 years was integral in creating a hugely successful elite training environment that produced 63 senior international medals for Britain and the Home Nations from 2012-16, including 5 Olympic Silver Medals.


  • Coached 4 Olympic Medallists (63 Senior International medals in the last 4 years)
  • Olympic Coach, Beijing 2008
  • World Championship Coach, 2007
  • Team Leader for European Youth Olympics, 2014
  • World Junior Championships Head Coach, 2013
  • European Junior Coach, 2005, 2006, 2010, 2011
  • 10 years as a British Swimming elite coach
  • 8 years at Bath National training Centre
  • 10 years as Head Coach at Borough of Stockton Swim Scheme (Top 8 Youth club at Nationals)
  • British Swimming World Class Start Programme Coach, 2002 - 2004
  • British Swimming World Class Youth Programme Technical Lead Coach, 2004 - 2006 


Athletes Coached include Senior International Medallists

  • Michael Jamieson
  • Jazz Carlin
  • Siobhan O’Connor
  • Jemma Lowe
  • Calum Jarvis
  • Chris Walker-Hebborn
  • Andrew Willis
  • Jessica Dickons 
  • Elizabeth Simmonds